You can share your files and folders in your OneDrive library so that others can view and edit the documents. Alternatively, you can remove any users from a file that you shared with them. Once you’ve removed a user from a shared document, the person will no longer have editing or viewing permissions of that document.
A Note About Sharing Data with External Users
The ability to share files with an external user is currently disabled at this time.
Faculty, staff, students and annuitants who fall under Illinois State University’s tenant with Microsoft have NOT been approved to share files outside of this tenant by the Data Stewardship Council.
For more information on sharing files in OneDrive, please refer to the article below:
Removing a User from a Shared File in OneDrive
- Go to Office365.Illinoisstate.edu
- Log in to Office 365 using your ISU email address and password
- Click [OneDrive] (See Figure 1)
- Move your mouse over the file or folder you want to remove the shared user from.
- To the right of that selection, hover your mouse over the Shared button (See Figure 2)
- A list of users who have access to the file or folder will appear. It will show who can edit and who can view. Under the name of the user, select the drop-down arrow where it says “Can Edit” or “Can View” and Click [Stop Sharing]. (See Figure 3) The User will be removed once you select that option.
How to Get Help
For technical assistance, you may contact the Technology Support Center at 309-438-4357, or by email at SupportCenter@IllinoisState.edu.