Skip to main content
Skip to main navigation
Illinois State University

How to Forget Wireless Networks on a Mac

When users connect to a wireless network, the operating system creates a profile and stores the information for that connection. The wireless network information saved is the SSID (the name of the network) and its security details (like the password and encryption it uses). Forgetting wireless networks allow your computer to reset setting information, such as passwords, server, or configurations that may allow you to reconnect again.

Follow the instructions below to learn how to forget a wireless network in macOS and OS X:

  1. Select the WiFi symbol along the top menu bar and click on Open Network Preferences at the bottom of the drop down menu.
  2. Click on Wi-Fi on the left-hand menu, if it is not selected for you already, and click Advanced located at the bottom right of the pop-up window (figure 1).

Figure 1:

Image

Image Description: A screenshot of the Network selection screen. Click “Advanced” to be navigated to the list of known networks your device has joined.

  1. Select the WiFi network you want to delete, and click the [-] minus sign (Figure 2).

Figure 2:

Image

Image Description: A screenshot of the Advanced WiFi settings for Mac OS.

  1. Click the OK button, and then click the Apply button.

The Wireless Network’s profile and connection details are now deleted and you can now close the “System Preferences” window.

Please Note: You can also reconfigure which networks are connected to first by clicking and dragging the WiFi network to the top of this list. We suggest deleting any previously used ISU networks or moving isunet to the top as your preferred wireless network for easy access to the internet.

How to Get Help

For technical assistance, you may contact the Technology Support Center at 309-438-4357, or by email at SupportCenter@IllinoisState.edu. You can also submit a help ticket at ithelp.illinoisstate.edu/request

Back to Overview: