Skip to main content
Skip to main navigation
Illinois State University

How to Manage the Personal Address Book on your VoIP Phone

Log in to the personal directory on your VoIP phone to access your personal address book and personal fast dials.

Before You Begin

Your personal directory contains a personal address book and personal fast dials. This article describes how to add and remove entries from the personal address book on your VoIP phone.

You can also manage your VoIP phone’s personal address book through the Cisco Unified Communications Self Care Portal. For more information please review the following article:

Personal Address Book

Your personal address book is a place for you to contact information. Each entry in your personal address book can include the following:

  • Name
  • Nickname (required)
  • Email address
  • Home phone
  • Work phone
  • Mobile phone

Logging In to Your Personal Directory

To log in to your personal directory, do the following:

  1. Press the Directories button on your VoIP phone.
  2. Use the arrow pad to highlight Personal Directory.
  3. Press the Select button.

3a. You will be prompted to enter your UserID and PIN.

  1. Enter your ULID in the UserID field.

4a. Press the number pad key that corresponds to the first letter of your ULID.

4b. This brings up a mini-menu that contains each letter on the key you pressed. Quickly press the key again to select a different letter. To backspace, press the [<<] button.

4c. You only need to enter your ULID one time. After you log in successfully, your VoIP phone will store your ULID so you do not have to type it again in the future.

  1. Enter your VoIP PIN in the PIN field.

5a. Use the arrow pad to highlight the PIN field.

5b. Use the number pad on your phone to enter your VoIP PIN.

5c. If you do not know your VoIP PIN, please see the following article:

  • Press the Submit button.
  • You are now logged in to your personal directory. You will see options for Personal Address Book, Personal Fast Dials, and Log Out.

    Logging Out of Your Personal Directory

    When you are done using your personal directory, you should log out. If you do not log out, anyone who uses your phone can view and edit your personal address book.

    To log out of your personal directory, do the following:

    1. If you are in the personal address book, or the person fast dials features, press the Exit button until you see Log Out as an option.
    2. Use the arrow pad to highlight Log Out.
    3. Press the Select button.
    4. Press the OK button to log out.

    Personal Address Book

    To create, delete, or edit entries in your VoIP phone’s personal address book, do the following:

    1. Log in to your personal directory. See the steps above.
    2. Use the arrow pad to highlight Personal Address Book.
    3. Press the Select button.
    4. From here, you can search the personal address book, as well as create, edit, and delete entries.

    Search Personal Address Book

    The first screen that appears allows you to search your personal address book. To search your personal address book, do the following:

    1. Enter search criteria if desired.

    1a. Using the keypad on your phone as described previously in this article, enter a last name, first name, and/or nickname to search for a specific address book entry.

    1b. Leave all fields empty if you want to return a list of all address book entries.

    1. Press Submit to search.
    2. After searching, you will see a list of one or more entries. If there were no entries to return, you will see a message that says, “There are no entries in your address book that meet your search criteria.”

    Create New Personal Address Book Entry

    To create a new personal address book entry, do the following:

    1. Log in to your personal directory. See the steps above.
    2. Press the Submit.
    3. Press the New button

    3a. If you do not see the New button, press [more] and then press New.

    1. You may enter at least one of the following for your new entry: a first name, a last name, or a nickname.
    2. You may optionally enter an email address for the entry.
    3. Press the Phones button.
    4. Enter one or more phone numbers.
    5. When you are done, press the Submit button.
    6. You will see a message that says, “A new entry has been successfully created.”
    7. Press the [Exit] button.

    Edit Personal Address Book Entry

    To edit an existing personal address book entry, do the following:

    1. Log in to your personal directory. See the steps above.
    2. Press the Submit button to search.

    2a. Or enter search criteria (last name, first name, or a nickname) and then press the Submit button to search.

    1. Using the arrow pad, highlight the entry you want to edit.
    2. Press the Select button.
    3. Press the Edit button.
    4. Make the desired changes to the entry’s name, nickname, or email fields. If you want to edit the entry’s phone numbers, press the Phones button.

    6a. Note that if you make changes to the entry’s name, nickname, or email fields, you must press Update to save those changes before you can edit the phone numbers. This means that if you want to edit the entry’s names, nickname or email fields, as well as the entry’s phone numbers, you must effectively edit the same entry twice.

    1. To save your changes, press the Update button.
    2. You will see a message that says, “The existing entry has been successfully modified.”
    3. Press the Exit button.

    Delete Personal Address Book Entry

    To delete an existing personal address book entry, do the following:

    1. Log in to your personal directory. See the steps above.
    2. Press the Submit button to search.

    2a. Or enter search criteria and then press the Submit button to search.

    1. Using the arrow pad, highlight the entry you want to delete.
    2. Press the Edit button.
    3. Press the more button.
    4. Press the Delete button.
    5. To confirm the deletion, press the OK button.
    6. You will see a message that says, “The existing entry has been successfully removed.”
    7. Press the Exit button.

    Similar Articles: