Skip to main content
Skip to main navigation
Illinois State University

How to Forget Wireless Networks in Microsoft Windows

When users connect to a wireless network, the operating system creates a profile and stores the information for that connection. The wireless network information saved is the SSID (the name of the network) and its security details (like the password and encryption it uses). If you don’t want your device to remember a certain wireless connection, you must delete, or ‘forget’, its network profile.

To Forget a Wireless Network:

  1. Press the [Windows key+i] to open the Settings app.
  2. Click the [Network & Internet] option.
  3. Click [Wi-Fi] in the left panel.
  4. Click [Manage Known Networks] (Figure 1).
  1. Under Manage known networks, click on the network you wish to forget, and click [Forget] (Figure 2).

Figure 2:

The Wireless Network’s profile and connection details are now deleted.

How to Get Help

For technical assistance, you may contact the Technology Support Center at 309-438-4357, or by email at SupportCenter@IllinoisState.edu.

Back to Overview: